The Woodhouse Scholars Programme will provide for:

A.      Up to five Woodhouse Study Grants of $1000 each to secondary school students from Canterbury who intend to undertake a course in biological science at any of the three South Island universities (University of Otago, University of Canterbury, Lincoln University)

Selection of Woodhouse Study Grants recipients

  • Up to five Woodhouse Study Grants will be awarded to selected recipients who have been nominated by their school Principal

  • Preference will be given to students who have achieved merit grades or better in national examinations such as NCEA, Cambridge, Baccalaureate at Year 12

  • The decision of the selection panel shall be final

Submitting an entry for a Woodhouse Study Grant

Each entrant must submit an 800-word essay describing: "What I would hope to achieve for South Canterbury as a result of studying bio-science"

Closing date for entries is the last working day in October of each year.

B.      The annual selection of The Woodhouse Scholar which involves:

a.       A grant of $5,000 for each of up to three academic years towards the cost of completing undergraduate university study in the biological sciences (subject to meeting at least a B+ academic average each year), plus

b.      Biological science related employment during the summer recess at the SPS Ltd facility at Washdyke, Timaru

The Woodhouse Scholar will be:

  • A promising first year undergraduate university student whose family lives in the South Canterbury region and who is studying biological sciences at University of Otago, University of Canterbury or Lincoln University

Selection of The Woodhouse Scholar

  • The Woodhouse Scholar will be selected from South Canterbury applicants who are undertaking a course of study to major in the biological sciences at a South Island university

  • The decision of the selection panel shall be final

Submitting an Entry for The Woodhouse Scholarship

  • Entries for The Woodhouse Scholarship close on the 20th February each year and must be submitted on the Entry Form which is also available from the Woodhouse Scholars Programme Administrator

  • Each entrant must submit an essay of 2,000 words on the subject "How I intend to apply my bio-science expertise to economic, social and environmental benefit for NZ and South Canterbury". Failure to complete this assignment will render the entry invalid.


Selection panel

The selection panel for The Woodhouse Scholars Programme comprises:

  • Sir David Skegg, former Vice Chancellor University of Otago (2004-2011) and former President of the Royal Society of New Zealand (2012-2015), currently a consultant to the World Health Organisation

  • Dr Jacqueline Rowarth CNZM, Chief Scientist Environmental Protection Agency, former Professor of Agribusiness, University of Waikato Management School

  • Dr William Rolleston CNZM, Director South Pacific Sera Limited, former National President Federated Farmers, former Vice-President World Farmers' Organisation,